The Plebian

Pretty Economic Pictures for the Illiterate Masses

Economic Numbers in ‘Me’ Terms, or ‘EconoME’ if you will.

leave a comment »

A trillion bucks is a lot of money.  In fact, it is so much money that few people can actually grasp its relative magnitude.  So when I read this article this morning, my immediate question was, well how much would my share be? I can’t pin that one down, but I can pretend I am ‘average’ Joe American and assume that i’ll be somewhere in the ballpark.  The breakdown: 7,760,000,000,000/131,000,000 (number of taxpayers) = a little more than $58,000. Well at least I have some idea now, I’m glad

What this means for future inflation is a great question.  The Consumer Price Index (CPI = the broadest gov’t measure of the price of things) is showing record declines.  But my impression is short-term deflation yielded inflation in the years to come (it’s a gut feeling).

Written by eastwood24

November 24, 2008 at 8:49 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

